Monday, October 27, 2008
ignorance
I heard some dumb Republican kid say "It's called the White House for a reason" the other day. I've never been more astounded by a person's idiocy before. I don't care if you don't support Obama's agenda, but pulling the race card, especially on such a stupid level, is unacceptable in any facet of American life. I wanted to break the kid's nose and see if Republicans really do bleed crude oil.
the final stretch
The election is a week from tomorrow. I'm starting to feel good about Obeezy's chances. The polls have shown McCain down significantly in the last week, so we may not have to deal with Sarah Palin destroying the white house. It will be interesting, after all the work and trouble we've gone through to help Obama, to see how things turn out. I'm going to be terribly disappointed if my boy loses. I did my part to make this thing happen.
My Pal Palin (Ha)
Sarah Palin's visit to Junk Town stirred up a great deal more controversy than Obama's. Given there were significantly more people at the Palin rally, but people seemed to behave completely different. The idiots that decided to protest by jumping in front of her motorcade make Democrats look bad. Picketing is one thing, but being a dumbass is unacceptable. I don't agree with Palin, but I don't think there's any harm in letting the woman speak and make herself look like an idiot. The Palin visit was more like a rally than the Obama visit. Obama didn't have "opening acts" and big names like Hank Williams Jr. The Republicans do everything weirdly. I don't approve.
Tuesday, October 14, 2008
Presidential Debate 2
I never realized how old McCain really was until I saw him shuffling around stage at the second debate. The man walks like he's about to fall apart. It's hard to lead a country when you can't stand up. McCain was also taking notes in Sharpie. That is impratical on numerous levels. I mean, that junk bleeds through like no one's business. I think the debate did a good job to portray McCain in a poor physical and political light, similar to the way Nixon was downplayed way back when. Obeezy was smooth, calm, and collected while McCain spoke. During Obama's talks, McCain was literally wandering around aimlessly, like an old person in a building they're unfamiliar with. Tough business. Tough Business.
Obama Takes the Lead
Yesterday the polls showed Obama overtaking McCain by nearly seven points. That's an intense lead in an election as close as this one. I must say, as avid as I am in my Democratic ideals, I'm surprised that Obama is pushing ahead. To be honest, I've been having my doubts about his ability to swing some of the red votes. These last few days have started to open my eyes to the reality of Obama's ability to win this election. I'm pumped.
Election of 2000
We've been going over the Bush-Gore controversy in class and I guess I never realized how intense things got there for a while in 2000. I was only ten, so I imagine a great deal of the drama was lost on me. I didn't realize that it went all the way to the Supreme Court. I guess I just imagined that the whole ordeal involved smart people sitting around a table recounting contested votes. The 2000 election was close and politically violent. I wish I could remember more of how I felt on the issue.
Tuesday, October 7, 2008
The Real Race
is between Obama and McCain, not Obama and Palin. That's something I think the public is missing. It's understandable that Americans want to focus on the potential president's right hand man (lady), but Sarah Palin won't be a problem unless McCain wins the race. I haven't heard more than a murmur about McCain in the recent wake of Palin criticism. Biden and Palin are both significant factors in the election, but by themselves they don't pose a threat to anybody. So basically what I am trying to say is let's trash on McCain a little too, just to round things out.
Belated Response to the Presidential Debates
I know that the first presidential debates were quite some time ago, but I never got around to saying what I felt prior to the event. I was relatively certain that McCain wouldn't make it to the first debate, a belief many Americans shared. If McCain hadn't attended the first debate, I think public opinion would have greatly changed. Obama would have been able to speak unattested for an hour, something that would give him another foot up in the race. I think it was a wise decision for McCain to take a break from the economic crisis to participate in his nominee obligations. I bet this blog seems really stupid. Yeah, it does.
SNL vs. Palin
I've watched the several Sarah Palin skits that Saturday Night Live has thrown together over the last few weeks. The acts are hilarious, especially when paired with footage of the actual events they're mocking. The woman speaks just as well as George Bush. Though I don't support Palin in any way, I think the SNL skits almost go too far. Palin has to know she got her ass handed to her in the Coureck interview and the VP debates. I think SNL should back off a little and let Palin's own stupidity fuel her personal comedies. But that's just me.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)